Celtic Christmas: Peace On Earth


Number five in Windham Hill’s Celtic Christmas series, this may be the best of the lot with evocative compositions and arrangements that don’t slip into seasonal sentimentality, better known as schmaltz. Produced by Micheal O’Domhnaill, the guitarist and founder of Nightnoise, the disc centers on members of that band. Nightnoise gives a Celtic chamber music feel to the traditional Irish carol, “The Flight into Egypt,” while also offering up the serene original, “No Room at the Inn.” Nightnoise singer Triona Ni Dhomhnaill duets with her sister Maighread on the quavering harmonies of “Barbara Allen,” while Micheal O’Domhnaill joins fiddler Paddy Glackin on “The Green Fields of Amerikay.” William Coulter and Benjamin Verdery provide dual acoustic guitar filigree on “Flow Gently Sweet Afton” and Nightnoise flutist Brian Dunning joins Jeff Johnson on “Down the Chimney.” There’s something about that Celtic lilt, the sound of low whistles, cranky uilleann pipes, and Turlough O’Carolan tunes that instantly conjure up the warmth, quiet, and mysticism of Christmas. And it’s all on A Celtic Christmas: Peace on Earth.

  • The Flight Into Egypt - Nightnoise
  • Strathglass - Phil Cunningham
  • The Green Fields Of Amerikay - Paddy Glackin And Michael O Domhnaill
  • By The River Shannon - Snuffy Walden
  • Ga Greine - John Fitzpatrick
  • Flow Gently Sweet Afton - William Coulter And Benjamin Verdery
  • Barbara Allen - Triona And Maighread Ni Dhomhnaill
  • The Heron - James Blennerhassett
  • Carolan's Farewell - Laoise Kelly
  • No Room At The Inn - Nightnoise
  • An Clar Bog Deil - Zoe Conway
  • Down The Chimney - Jeff Johnson And Brian Dunning

Northpole.com uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Got It.