Holiday Songs & Lullabies

Shawn Colvin

Inspired by impending motherhood and the rediscovery of a favorite children’s book—the enchanting Maurice Sendak-illustrated Lullabies and Night Songs, from whence many of these traditional tunes come—Grammy winner Shawn Colvin has made a quietly beautiful recording. Holiday Songs and Lullabies offers cozy comfort like cradling a newborn and nuzzling the sweet-smelling softness of a downy fontanel. These simple, elegant songs outshine any nasty humbug associated with holidays and dark nights, offering sanctuary from the ill temper of the season. Though she was heavy with child at the time of recording, Colvin’s sweet, girlish voice is here huskily warmed and enhanced by the fullness of womanly glow, conjuring the innocent simplicity of a safe childhood. Inspired string and horn sections elegantly strengthen piano, organ, acoustic guitar, and lap and pedal-steel. Yet where Colvin’s gifts have at times in the past been dimmed by overproduction, here producer, arranger, and keyboard player Doug Petty buoys Colvin’s considerable talent without overshadowing or rendering these lovely carols overly precious.

  • In The Bleak Mid-Winter
  • Christmas Time Is Here
  • Now The Day Is Over
  • Rocking
  • Windy Nights
  • All Through The Night
  • Love Came Down At Christmas
  • Silent Night
  • All The Pretty Li'l Horses
  • Little Road To Bethlehem
  • Seal Lullaby
  • Evening Is A Little Boy/The Night Will Never Stay
  • The Christ Child's Lullaby
  • Close Your Eyes uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Got It.