Snowfall: The Tony Bennett Christmas Album

Tony Bennett

Tony Bennett could probably sing the Homeland Security Act and make it sound like a majestic (and even cool) thing of beauty. His 1968 release, Snowfall: The Tony Bennett Christmas Album, features wonderful takes on Christmas classics, with a syrupy yet playful orchestral backup, courtesy of Robert Fanon. The versions of “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” and “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)” emphasize the romantic elements to great effect, while Bennett’s take on “My Favorite Things” is superlative. Where so many artists just re-make the same holiday album every other year, Bennett has opted to append new material to his sole original. And rather than crassly cluttering it up, these new additions help make this classic all the more, um, classic-er. This Legacy re-issue of the crooner’s 1968 release includes not only the rousing take on “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” from Jon Stewart’s TV show, which was added to the 1994 re-issue, but an extra disc with six more tunes in the same vein.

  • My Favorite Things
  • The Christmas Song
  • Santa Claus is Comin' To Town
  • Medley: We Wish You A Merry Christmas Silent Night, Holy Night O Come All Ye Faithful
  • Christmasland
  • I Love The Winter Weather/I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
  • White Christmas
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  • Snowfall
  • I'll Be Home For Christmas uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Got It.