The Gift

Jim Brickman

Jim Brickman’s 1997 holiday package is all satin bows and glowing hearth embers, precisely the approach his romantically inclined legions would have wished him to take. Those with less sentimental ears might argue that at times the pianist’s approach is a touch too sweet. “Joy to the World” would be more affecting as a solo work, for instance, and we could have done without the strings and music-box embellishments heard in “Angels.” Yet Brickman compensates by delicately tracing a path to our heart-of-hearts in the album’s two superb, nonholiday originals, “Fireside” and “Winter Peace.” Three vocal tracks surface here: a breathy Kenny Loggins sings on the album’s obligatory lullaby (“Starbright”), the female gospel group Point of Grace takes a bow (“Hope is Born Again”), and country vocalist Collin Raye performs a heart-clutching duet with Susan Ashton on the title track. It’s not Brickman’s finest record, but it’s a very pretty one.

  • Joy To The World
  • It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  • Starbright
  • Angels
  • Fireside
  • What Child Is This
  • Hope Is Born Again
  • Winter Peace
  • The First Noel
  • Oh Christmas Tree
  • Little Town Of Bethlehem
  • Dreams Come True
  • The Gift uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website, you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Got It.