Joy - A Holiday Collection


Jewel has concocted an intriguing and at times beautifully inspired holiday album, playing it straight with a big orchestra and backing voices for the first half of the record with standards such as “Joy to the World,” “Winter Wonderland,” “Silent Night,” as well as a lovely rendition of “Ave Maria.” Things finally get sparkling in the last half where Jewel does a low-key, kid version of “Rudolph” and sings her own compositions. Her moving “Face of Love” and “Hands” are certain to become holiday standards, capable of being sung in a country, pop, gospel, or R&B vein and deserving of an audience as wide as the nation itself. The record’s centerpiece, however, seems to be a six-minute-plus medley that mixes “Go Tell It on the Mountain” with the recent hit “From a Distance” and her own “Life Uncommon.” Nonetheless, her stunning adaptation of “Gloria” inspired, in part, by Bach’s B-Minor Mass, two tracks later is as powerful and lovely a Christmas vocal performance as you will find anywhere. Produced by the legendary Arif Mardin, Joy is destined to become a holiday classic.

  • Joy To The World
  • O Holy Night
  • Silent Night
  • Winter Wonderland
  • O Little Town Of Bethlehem
  • Ave Maria
  • Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  • Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer
  • Face Of Love
  • Medley: a) Go Tell It On The Mountain b) Life Uncommon c) From A Distance
  • I Wonder As I Wonder
  • Gloria
  • Hands (Christmas Version)